June 2017

Open Studios and Reading

Fellows' Open Studios and Reading

  • Thursday, 8 June 2017 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
McKim, Mead & White Building

Open Studios offer the public an opportunity to see the studios of the current Rome Prize Fellows in the fields of Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Design, Historic Preservation and Conservation, and Visual Arts and attend a reading by the two Rome Prize Fellows in Literature.

Please note: valid photo ID is required for entry into the American Academy in Rome. Backpacks and luggage with dimensions larger than cm 40 x 35 x 15 (inches 16 x 14 x 6) are not permitted on the property. There are no locker facilities available.


  • Wednesday, 7 June 2017 - 8:00pm
Villa Aurelia

The American Academy in Rome honors Dante Ferretti & Francesca Lo Schiavo.

The McKim Medal Gala in Rome honors individuals whose work internationally – especially in Italy and in the United States – has contributed significantly to the arts and humanities, and whose life exemplifies creative and intellectual exchange across the arts, scholarship, language, and culture. Proceeds from the evening support Academy programs and fellowships for Italian artists and scholars, providing them with important opportunities to pursue their individual studies, to participate in and contribute to international discourse in their fields and disciplines, and to gain experience that will be invaluable throughout their careers.



For information please contact Inga Clausing at +39 06-5846-474, or write to

Dante Ferretti & Francesca Lo Schiavo, Production and Set Designers

Dinner Chair
Ginevra Elkann Gaetani

Honorary Dinner Chair
Valentina Moncada di Paternò

Founding Dinner Chair
Verdella Caracciolo de Benedictis

Dinner Committee
Alessia Antinori
Cynthia Beck
Thomas Blount
Maria Bonmassar
Cornelia Brandolini d’Adda
Beatrice Bulgari
Mario Calvo-Platero
Marella Caracciolo Chia
Inga Clausing
Suzanne Deal Booth
Elena Di Giovanni
Emanuela di Lorenzo
Andrea Donzelli
Paola Gaetani d’Aragona
Francesco Gianni
Valeria Giuliani
Eugenio Grippo
Margherita Maccapani Missoni
Pepi Marchetti Franchi
Alessia Margiotta Broglio
Emanuele Mascioni
Martina Mondadori Sartogo
Antonio Monfreda
Deborah Needleman
Nancy Novogrod
Martine Orsini
Mirella Petteni Haggiag
Fabio Salini
Marie-Louise Sciò
Guido Torlonia
Ines Torlonia Theodoli Clarke
Soledad Twombly