FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 27 April 2012

AMERICAN ACADEMY IN ROME ANNOUNCES 2012-2013 ROME PRIZE WINNERS

New York – The American Academy in Rome congratulates the winners of the 116th annual Rome Prize Competition. The winners' names were announced at the Janet & Arthur Ross Rome Prize Ceremony held at the Harmonie Club in New York City on 26 April. Recipients of the 2012-2013 Rome Prizes are provided with a fellowship that includes a stipend, a study or studio, and room and board for a period of six months to two years in Rome, Italy.

After the Rome Prize winners' names were announced, the audience enjoyed a conversation with opera, theater and festival director, Peter Sellars and Nobel laureate and Pulitzer Prize winning novelist, Toni Morrison about *Desdemona*, a play on which they collaborated based on the female protagonist of Shakespeare's *Othello*.

The 2012-2013 Rome Prize winners are:

Erik Adigard (Design)

Ross Benjamin Altheimer (Landscape Architecture)

Polly Apfelbaum (Visual Arts)

Patrick Baker (Renaissance and Early Modern Studies)

Peter Jonathan Bell (Renaissance and Early Modern Studies)

Joshua Colin Birk (Medieval Studies)

Emma Blake (Ancient Studies)

Nicholas Blechman (Design)

Pablo Castro Estévez (Architecture)

Anthony Cheung (Musical Composition)

Lucy Corin (Literature)

Carl D'Alvia (Visual Arts)

Steven J.R. Ellis (Ancient Studies)

Jessica Fisher (Literature)

Mari Yoko Hara (Renaissance and Early Modern Studies)

Thomas Hendrickson (Ancient Studies)

Jesse Jones (Musical Composition)

Brenda Longfellow (Ancient Studies)

Randall Mason (Historic Preservation and Conservation)

Camille S. Mathieu (Modern Italian Studies, second year of two-year fellowship)

Karen M'Closkey (Landscape Architecture)

Glendalys Medina (Visual Arts)

Claudia Moser (Ancient Studies)

William O'Brien Jr. (Architecture)

Dominique Kirchner Reill (Modern Italian Studies)

Irene San Pietro (Ancient Studies)

Beth Saunders (Modern Italian Studies)

Elizabeth Kaiser Schulte (Historic Preservation and Conservation)

Denton Alexander Walthall (Ancient Studies)

Nari Ward (Visual Arts)

For more information regarding the 2012-2013 Rome Prize winners, please visit www.aarome.org.

THE ROME PRIZE

Each year, through a national competition, the Rome Prize is awarded to approximately thirty individuals who represent the highest standard of excellence in the arts and humanities. Prize recipients are invited to Rome for six months to two years to immerse themselves in the Academy community where they will enjoy a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to expand their own professional, artistic, or scholarly pursuits, drawing on their colleagues' erudition and experience and on the inestimable resources that Italy, Europe, and the Academy have to offer. Forty-three individuals were invited to make up nine peer juries to review the applications this year. The annual application deadline is 1 November.

THE AMERICAN ACADEMY IN ROME

Founded in 1894, originally as the first graduate school of architecture for the United States, the American Academy in Rome emerged in its present form – a hybrid center for the arts *and* humanities – by 1912. It remains the premier American overseas center for independent study and advanced research, a not-for-profit, private entity, the only academy in Rome not supported primarily or entirely by its government. With an 11-acre campus on the highest point within the walls of Rome, the Academy annually offers the Rome Prize to 30 individuals, following a national competition presided over by rotating independent juries of peers in each discipline, which include ancient, medieval, Renaissance and early modern, and modern Italian studies, as well as in literature, music composition, visual arts, architecture, landscape architecture, design, and historic preservation and conservation.

Academy support and fellowships have been beacons to generations of young artists and scholars. The roster is a who's who of America's finest in their formative years. To name but a few: architects Louis Kahn, Robert Venturi, Michael Graves; landscape architects Edward Lawson, Laurie Olin, Martha Schwartz; composers Aaron Copland, John Adams, Laurie Anderson; writers Ralph Ellison, William Styron, Francine Prose; artists Philip Guston, Jenny Holzer, Anthony Hernandez. On the scholarly side are such pioneering classicists as Esther van Deman, Lily Ross Taylor, Lucy Shoe Merritt, Richmond Lattimore, and Michael C.J. Putnam; distinguished medievalists Peter Brown, and Brian Stock; field-changing students of Renaissance and early modern Europe James Hankins and Anthony Grafton; and razor-sharp interpreters of modern Italy Victoria de Grazia, Mia Fuller, and David Kertzer.

For more information please visit: www.aarome.org

Rome Prize Queries Contact: Shawn Miller, <u>s.miller@aarome.org</u>, Tel. +1 212 751 7200 ext. 344 Press Queries Contact: Milena Sales, <u>m.sales@aarome.org</u>, Tel. +1 212 751 7200 ext. 345