2013 McKim Medal Gala

McKim Medal Gala

2013 McKim Medal Gala

2013 McKim Medal Gala

The American Academy in Rome honors Maestro Bernardo Bertolucci

Dinner Chairman

Valentina Moncada Di Paternò

Honorary Dinner Chairmen

The Honorable and Mrs. David H. Thorne
Mercedes T. Bass

The McKim Medal was established by the Trustees of the American Academy in Rome to honor an individual whose work internationally—most particularly in Italy and in the United States—has contributed significantly to the arts and humanities, and whose life exemplifies creative and intellectual exchange across the arts, scholarship, language, and culture. The Medal is awarded annually at a gala in Rome.

The net proceeds from the event allow Italian artists to join the Academy community as fellows, and also support an exchange program in the humanities with the Scuola Normale di Pisa. The almost fifty Italian fellowships that have been awarded since the first McKim Medal Gala in 2005 are a vital aspect of the Academy’s mission: to support innovative artists, writers, and scholars living and working together in a dynamic international community.

The Medal, named for Charles Follen McKim (1847–1909), noted architect who established the Academy in 1894, was designed by Cy Twombly.

For information please contact Inga Clausing at +39 06-5846-474, or write to i.clausing [at] aarome.org.

Previous McKim Medal Laureates are:

  • 2012: Riccardo Muti, conductor and music director
  • 2011: Luigi Ontani, artist
  • 2010: Miuccia Prada, fashion designer
  • 2009: Ennio Morricone, composer and music conductor
  • 2008: Franco Zeffirelli, producer and director
  • 2007: Umberto Eco, writer
  • 2006: Cy Twombly, artist
  • 2005: Renzo Piano, architect
Giorno e ora
lunedì 27 maggio 2013
Villa Aurelia
Largo di Porta S. Pancrazio, 1
Roma, Italia