Member Institutions

Support - Member Institutions

Arts & Culture

The American Academy in Rome has initiated a membership program for arts and cultural organizations. The benefits of membership include Affiliated Fellowships at the Academy.

For information on how your institution can become a member, please contact Jacob Rivers, curatorial and programs manager, at j.rivers [at] (j[dot]rivers[at]aarome[dot]org).

Roster of Member Institutions

Academy of American Poets
Archaeological Institute of America
Cleveland Museum of Art
Institute of Classical Architecture and Art
Maurice Sendak Foundation
Max Mara
Metropolitan Museum of Art
National Academy Museum and School
National Trust for Historic Preservation
New York Institute of Technology
Parsons School of Design
Pratt Institute
Purdue University
Rhode Island School of Design
Savannah College of Art and Design
University of Arkansas
University of Houston
University of Kent
Virginia Commonwealth University


American colleges and universities have been Member Institutions of the American Academy in Rome since 1895, when the program was created by and for the American School of Classical Studies in Rome, which merged with the American Academy in Rome in 1912. Each Member Institution appoints three faculty members to serve on the Advisory Council on Classical Studies to the Committee on the Humanities, the Trustees committee that oversees Academy programs in the humanities.

For information on how your institution can become a member, please contact Shawn Miller, programs director, at s.miller [at] (s[dot]miller[at]aarome[dot]org).

Roster of Member Institutions

American University in Rome
Amherst College
Baylor University
Boston College
Boston University
Bowdoin College
Brandeis University
Brigham Young University
Brown University*
Bryn Mawr College*
Carleton College
Case Western Reserve University*
Catholic University of America
Chapman University
Colgate University
College of the Holy Cross
College of William and Mary
Columbia University*
Cornell University*
Council of American Overseas Research Centers
Dartmouth College*
Dickinson College
Duke University
Emory University
Florida State University
Fordham University
Franklin and Marshall College
Georgia State University
Gettysburg College
Hamilton College
Harvard University*
Hofstra University
Hunter College, City University of New York
Indiana University
John Cabot University
Johns Hopkins University*
Kenyon College
Mount Holyoke College*
New York University
Northwestern University*
Ohio State University
Pennsylvania State University
Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies
Princeton University*
Rice University
Rutgers University
Smith College*
Stanford University*
State University of New York, Buffalo
Swarthmore College
Texas Tech University
Tufts University
Tulane University
University of Arizona
University of California, Berkeley
University of California, Los Angeles
University of California, Riverside
University of California, San Diego
University of California, Santa Barbara
University of Chicago*
University of Cincinnati
University of Colorado, Boulder
University of Delaware
University of Florida
University of Georgia
University of Iowa
University of Kansas
University of Maryland
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor*
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
University of Mississippi
University of Missouri, Columbia
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
University of Notre Dame
University of Oklahoma
University of Oregon
University of Pennsylvania*
University of Pittsburgh
University of Puget Sound
University of Southern California
University of South Florida
University of Tennessee
University of Texas at Austin
University of Toronto
University of Virginia
University of Washington
Vassar College*
Wellesley College*
Wesleyan University
Williams College
Yale University*

Founding members are indicated by asterisks.

Advisory Council on Classical Studies

The general aim of the Advisory Council on Classical Studies to the Committee on the Humanities of the American Academy in Rome is to promote and support classical studies at the American Academy in Rome. To further realize this goal, the Executive Committee of the Advisory Council:

  • Recommends to the AAR director scholars based in Rome to serve as ancient studies advisors to the Fellows
  • Recommends scholars to serve as Residents in ancient studies (to be approved by the Committee on the Humanities and invited by the AAR director)
  • Annually draws up a slate for the election of jurors for the Rome Prize competition in ancient studies
  • Organizes programs, such as sessions at the annual meetings of the Archaeological Institute of America and Society for Classical Studies as well as conferences in Rome and elsewhere, on classical and related topics of interest
  • Represents the interests and concerns of member schools to the AAR leadership and works with leadership on ways to maintain and enhance the strengths of the Academy

Current Officers

Carlos Noreña, University of California, Berkeley (2001 Fellow)
Chair of the Advisory Council (2022–24)

Steven Ellis, University of Cincinnati (2013 Fellow)
Secretary of the Advisory Council (2022–24)

Éric Rebillard, Cornell University
Executive Committee Member (2022–24)

Ann O. Koloski-Ostrow, Brandeis University (1975 Affiliated Fellow)
Executive Committee Member (2021–23)

Emma Scioli, University of Kansas (2005 Fellow)
Executive Committee Member (2020–22)

Joseph Farrell, University of Pennsylvania (2014 Resident)
Advisory Council Trustee (2020–22)

Elected posts are three years, running January 1–December 31 each year.