Twenty Residents to Visit AAR in 2022–23

Michael Rakowitz, The Invisible Enemy Should Not Exist, 2018, on the Fourth Plinth in London’s Trafalgar Square (photograph © Dmzotov80 and licensed through Dreamstime)

The American Academy in Rome is pleased to announce its slate of twenty Residents for the 2022–23 academic year. They join the distinguished list of artists and scholars who are invited as Fellows each year to live and work within the Academy’s community in Rome.

For this program, esteemed artists and scholars of international standing reside at the Academy for periods ranging from one to three months. Invitations are extended to esteemed artists and scholars working in the disciplines represented by AAR: architecture, design, historic preservation and conservation, landscape architecture, literature, musical composition, and visual arts, as well as ancient studies, medieval studies, Renaissance and early modern studies, and modern Italian studies.

During their stay, Residents serve as advisors and mentors to Rome Prize recipients and to other members of the Academy community. Residents also participate in various events throughout the year as part of the series Conversations/Conversazioni: From the American Academy in Rome. These and other programs emphasize links between the disciplines represented by the AAR community and highlight the impact of Residents’ artistic and scholarly work.

Joining the AAR community as Residents this season are:

Richard Grubman and Caroline Mortimer Photographer in Residence
Iwan Baan
Photographer, Amsterdam

James Marston Fitch Resident in Historic Preservation and Conservation
Sanchita Balachandran
Associate Director of the Archaeological Museum, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, John Hopkins University; and Founder and Director, Untold Stories

William A. Bernoudy Architect in Residence
Yolande Daniels (2004 Fellow)
Associate Professor in Architecture, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Elliott Carter Memorial Resident in Composition
Du Yun
Composer and Performer, New York

Rea S. Hederman Critic in Residence
Hal Foster
Townsend Martin, Class of 1917, Professor of Art and Archaeology, Princeton University

Mercedes T. Bass Landscape Architect in Residence
Mary Margaret Jones (1998 Fellow, 2020 Resident)
President and Senior Principal, Hargreaves Associates

Lucy Shoe Meritt Resident in Classical Studies and Archaeology
Karen L. King
Hollis Professor of Divinity, Harvard Divinity School

James S. Ackerman Resident in the History of Art
W. J. T. Mitchell
Gaylord Donnelley Distinguished Service Professor, English and Art History, University of Chicago

Louise Kerz Hirschfield and Lewis B. Cullman Theatre Artist in Residence
Lynn Nottage
Playwriter, Brooklyn; and Associate Professor of Theatre, Columbia University

Lucy Shoe Meritt Resident in Classical Studies and Archaeology
Dan-el Padilla Peralta
Associate Professor of Classics, Princeton University

William A. Bernoudy Architect in Residence
Gregg Pasquarelli
Founding Principal, SHoP Architects, New York

James S. Ackerman Resident in the History of Art
Amy Knight Powell
Associate Professor of Art History, University of Southern California

Deenie Yudell Resident in the Visual Arts
Michael Rakowitz
Visual Artist, Chicago; and Professor of Art Theory and Practice, Northwestern University

Colin Rowe Designer in Residence
Michael Rock (2000 Fellow)
Executive Creative Director, 2x4; Professor of Design, Yale School of Art; and Professor, Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation, Columbia University

Henry Wolf Graphic Designer in Residence
Susan Sellers
Creative Director and Partner, 2x4; and Senior Design Critic, Yale School of Art

Paul Fromm Resident in Composition
Alvin Singleton

Esther Van Deman Scholar in Residence
Hérica Valladares (2009 Fellow)
Associate Professor, Department of Classics, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Mercedes T. Bass Landscape Architect in Residence
Thaïsa Way (2016 Fellow)
Director, Garden and Landscape Studies, Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collections; and Professor, Landscape Architecture, College of Built Environments, University of Washington

Rea S. Hederman Critic in Residence
Adam D. Weinberg (2020 Resident)
Alice Pratt Brown Director, Whitney Museum of American Art

Lester K. Little Resident in Medieval Studies
Kenneth Baxter Wolf
John Sutton Miner Professor of History and Professor of Classics, Pomona College

Recent AAR Residents have included the artists Yto Barrada, Teresita Fernández, William Kentridge, Amy Sillman, and Theaster Gates; the architects David Adjaye and Annabelle Selldorf; writers Natasha Trethewey, Ayad Akhtar, and André Aciman; scholars Ruth Ben-Ghiat, Mary Beard, Danielle Allen, and Teo Ruiz; and many others who have made significant contributions to the arts and humanities.

Press inquiries

Andrew Mitchell

Director of Communications

212-751-7200, ext. 342

a.mitchell [at]

Maddalena Bonicelli

Rome Press Officer

+39 335 6857707

m.bonicelli.ext [at]